Social Media…A Tool?!

One of the funny things about being a blogger, is that when I first heard about “world wide web”, I was dead set against.  I thought it was a waste of time sitting in front of a computer screen.  And I remember hearing news reports about “eBooks”, and how that in the not-so-distant-future, book stores would most likely become obsolete.  Most of the bookstores in may area have, indeed, gone the way of the dodo.  There is something magical about being able to turn a page of a book, hearing the cover of a new book creak as you open it. (Sigh)

And this animal, social media; I seriously remember thinking,

“Why do I need to be on **Space, and F****B***?  I can just pick up a phone or write a letter!  What a useless TOY this internet thing is!”

social-media-logos_15773

So, for the past few years, I’ve had a love-hate relationship with social media, until I started blogging.  I never realized what a valuable tool the internet and social media could be!  Being able to talk to anyone, anywhere in the world is amazing!  And the sites for posting your photos is an addiction I have to control – I’m a word and photo junkie! 😀

Having said all that, I realize, after this afternoon, how many hurting people there are using the internet.  And how this is a fantastic way to able to reach them!

Most of my day was spent interacting with friends and people, whom I don’t even know, who decided to open up and share with me.  People who I would not have been able to meet face to face because they live half way around the world, but via internet/social media, it’s lightning fast.

While, and interaction this afternoon, I started thinking about the early church, Paul and the apostles, and how they would have used this way of communication.  They would have used it to reach people for CHRIST and to help edify the body.  Can you imagine the “upper room” encounter if they had this back then?! 😀  So many tweets, emails, text messages, and FB posts:

‘So many men speaking in languages they were not familiar with before, but this crowd is understanding every word!’

‘This guy Peter, he’s more bold than he used to be!’

‘Hundreds came to CHRIST today!’

socialMedia

And especially, late at night, when you can’t sleep, you start surfing the net.  It’s humbling to see the comments on some of the posts here, and the other places; how something that was shared on my page ministered, encouraged or touched another life in some way.  Honestly, I love reaching out to those who feel they are unlovable, whether they are believer or not; they are the ones who others don’t think much of because of status, or looks, or background.  We all need reassurance from time to time.

What passionate about using the internet and/or your site for?

5 thoughts on “Social Media…A Tool?!

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

