Direction? Not A Problem

For as long as I can remember, I have had a love for words, there meanings and origins because I always felt like I was learning about a new culture while learning a new word.

And since the Spring of 1990, I have had a fascination with Hebrew.

About a month or so ago, I was getting ready for my personal devotion time, but I wasn’t “feeling it.”  (I’m so darn sensitive, sometimes life and some people in it, get under my skin too deeply.) Staring at my Bible, thinking about where I was going to start reading, one of my favorite verses came to mind. I had heard it quoted during Christmas messages before, but I suddenly wanted to physically lay my eyes upon the verse for myself.

Unzipping the Bible case I opened to Isaiah 9:6 and read,

“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.” ~ King James Version

My heart started pounded, immediately, when I read the word Counsellor.  And I needed to find out exactly what that word meant.

(Now, I personally do not believe that I need a typical Dictionary when it comes to Bible studies.  I use a Strong’s Concordance {Hebrew and Greek Lexicon.})

So when I looked the word up, and read the definition, one word stood out.  It was the last word of the definition:

H3289
יעץ
yâ‛ats
yaw-ats’
A primitive root; to advise; reflexively to deliberate or resolve: – advertise, take advice, advise (well), consult, (give take) counsel (-lor), determine, devise, guide, purpose.

I felt, excited, happy, light and, most importantly, FREE. You gotta understand, for years I had wanted to be in ministry.  And I found that writing and blogging, is indeed a ministry.  But some people in my life don’t view it that way.  It’s viewed as lazy and unproductive and a non-contributing waste of time.

*Warning: the following contains very opinionated views.  And it’s not intended to indoctrinate anyone, but to encourage those who are in deep need of encouragement.*

So when I read this, it was as if my thoughts and views about my walk with the Lord, and where I believe He’d lead me was validated.  It occurred to me that Jesus, Himself, is my purpose.  He truly is everything.  And I didn’t feel the need to struggle for others’ approval.  I instantly knew that simply following Him was and IS the only purpose that I need.

And as long as I keep my eyes on Him, and continue putting my trust in Him, and obey, I’ll be taken care of.  So many times, we Christians, especially Westerners, still judge people, (believer in Jesus), based on “status.”  It’s as if some Christians that no job equals no anointing, or proof of God working in someone’s life.

People, an individual, is God’s business.  And if He has chosen you to be a vessel to touch others, then you are doing a very important work; regardless of what others may say.

God always has the last word..

 

 

 

 

3 Replies to “Direction? Not A Problem”

Share Your Thoughts

