A Beautiful Day for a Lesson

Sitting here at a local coffee shop, waiting to pick up one of my daughters, I noticed a woman crossing the street.   Well dressed for the beautiful So. Cal.  And with all the dignity and grace, she was making her way through the crosswalk, on crutches, and only leg.  I watched as she made it to my side of the street.  Her posture and eyes were void of bitterness and pain.  That’s not to say that she doesn’t struggle with that from time to time.  It’s just that she was out and about, keepin’ it movin’, without excuses.

It really punched my in the stomach because I was suddenly reminded of the times I’ve complained about this and that-things that I should have been grateful to be able to do.  But instead, I would throw…well…a tantrum.  And here this beautiful woman was, being used to teach me a lesson that I didn’t realize that I needed to learn, that in any situation, at any given time, in any state,  I am to be grateful and thankful, knowing that I am victorious, not because of who I am, but because of to whom I belong.

Forgive me, Lord, and help me to be a better representative of Your Love and Kindness… 

Philippians 4:12-13 (AMPlified bible)

 I know how to be abased and live humbly in straitened circumstances, and I know also how to enjoy plenty and live in abundance. I have learned in any and all circumstances the secret of facing every situation, whether well-fed or going hungry, having a sufficiency and enough to spare or going without and being in want.  I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who [a]infuses inner strength into me; I am [b]self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency]. 

 

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

