BeWoW: What Is Family To You?

What is family to me?  Two things came to mind when I read today’s challenge:  my church family and a friendship that I’ve had for 40 years.  My church family has been there for my kids through some of the most difficult moments.  And just like any family, there are members who you’d want to slap upside the head.  But there’s nothing like having a church family.

As for my best friend and I, we grew up in each others houses.  And she was my Maid of Honor. We could laugh with each other and talk about anything, that we couldn’t with others. (And still laugh together, to the point that the very sound of her laugh makes me laugh.  And she’ll say the same about me. 😀 )  And being older, I always felt the need to protect her.  Although we had our differences and challenges, such as a few years ago, being reunited after almost 15 years of no contact (as if she fell off the face of the earth.)  But when we reunited 6 years ago, it was if no time had past.  Her husband is like a brother to me, and their 3 boys are like my nephews-I love them to death!  And she loves my family just as much, and remembers details that I don’t always remember.  Sure we have grown as human beings, and have our own families and lives. We’re not up in each others business, but we are here for each other in way  that is more sibling-like.  We make it a point to get together often in order to keep our relationship cultivated.  We know each other like the back of our own hands.  We’re more like sisters than best friends.

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2015 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2015 – All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2014 - All Rights Reserved {Photo Credit: Originally posted on my photo blog http://hodgepodge4thesoul.weebly.com/blog/bffs
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2014 – All Rights Reserved
{Photo Credit: Originally posted on my photo blog http://hodgepodge4thesoul.weebly.com/blog/bffs
Share Your Thoughts

