Discrimination: It Can Go Both Ways

Today I’m shaking my head just a little bit.  And I’m wondering, since people want to freely be themselves, why am I not free to be myself-even if we won’t agree?  Why can’t I be free to express and be myself without fear of being prosecuted for being different, too? No, I’m not fuming with anger.  I’m just a little bit confused..

So, let me see if I got this straight.  If my pastor refuses to perform a wedding for a couple who doesn’t have the same values as my pastor, he could have criminal charges brought up against him, right?

To me there is a huge difference between hate crimes, and simply refusing services that go against what the business or church represents.

Do I condone discrimination of any kind.  No! And let me emphasize the words any kind! 

I shouldn’t be discriminated against because I’m a Christian.  That happens a lot where I live.  And although I’m Latina, I’m also discriminated against because I look Caucasian.  My point is, it’s just as wrong for me to be discriminated against because I believe a certain way, and look a certain way, as it is for an African-American or a homosexual to be discriminated against.

And having multi-racial children, as a product of an inter-racial marriage, my kids were discriminated against big time, especially my son.  When he was in middle school, my son was called a black and white monkey a lot.  And there was this one day my son had had enough.  So my son slapped the kid across the face.  The boy stopped from that day on.  And had a different outlook about my son.  The even started hanging out at the house.  However, my son got in trouble for it.  And the principal favored the boy who used such words against my son.  She did nothing for my son.  Needless to say, I did what I had to do, went through proper channels, etc. And the following school year, there was a new principal.

Not only am I discriminated against for being a Christian and fair-skinned, I’m discriminated against because of my lovely full size.  And it was difficult growing up in the ’70’s where it seemed white skin and large figures where considered being part of the enemy camp.  And I still receive that form of discrimination looking for work. Even though it’s illegal for a company or small business to do so, I can still pick up on it when it happens.  And it’s sad.

Personally, I believe that a person is so much more that how he or she looks, or likes to have sex.  We are spirit beings and we are loved by One who wants us to be like He is.  But if someone doesn’t agree with me, I’m not going to bring a law suit against the individual, nor will I go out of my way to perform an act of violence, be it verbal or physical violence.

Discrimination, in all it’s forms, is wrong.

We shouldn’t be afraid to be ourselves.  We.  All of us shouldn’t have fear of persecution or prosecution for being who we are.  We don’t have to agree on everything in order to get along with each other.  Period.  That’s what makes us all so uniquely beautiful and lovable.  That’s how we learn and grow is by learning from one another.  At least that’s what I think.

real rainbow

Share Your Thoughts

