An Unexpected Set Up

Hey everyone!  How have you been?  Yes, it’s been awhile since my last post.  To be honest, I had become “weary in well doing.”  I was even contemplating whether or not to shut this blog down.

For the past several months my posts have been bland.  Maybe here and there some posts of substance, but the inspiration that was there when I first started this blog had all but disappeared.  And for the past few weeks, there had been such a heaviness that I couldn’t seem to shake.  I wrote about it here.  But that was until this past Thursday night.  Little did I know that God had prepared to set me up to have an encounter with Him for Friday morning. An encounter that my finite words won’t be able to adequately describe.  (And not only for myself, but for many other women as well.)

My #3 had invited me and some other family members to a women’s conference that her church was hosting.  It was incredible!  What a blessing it was to be in an atmosphere of women where we weren’t judging or putting each other down, but instead encouraging and lifting each other up!  AND to have experienced it with my daughters and mom was an added blessing.

Thursday evening was awesome because I “happened to run into” a young lady I hadn’t seen since she was in the 4th grade-who is now 20 years old. I was beyond happy to see her!  As the years had passed, she would come to my mind and I would lift a prayer up-never thinking I would ever see her again.  We connected on Facebook a few months ago. But that doesn’t even come close to comparing to seeing her again face-to-face!  And during the message Thursday evening, I felt the fire for Jesus coming back.

Nevertheless I have this against you, that you have left your first love.~ Revelation 2:4

I had left my First Love and didn’t know it-ouch!  I went down for prayer, as most of the ladies did.

So the set up.

The Friday morning session was indescribable.  I have to say that I didn’t know exactly what to expect from the entire conference other than I wanted to have an encounter, I wanted to leave changed and not entertained.

To make a long story short, I fell in love with Jesus all over again.  Coming back to my first love wasn’t all.  There was an overwhelming sense of forgiveness and healing.  And a reintroduction to myself, the magnitude of which I wasn’t expecting.  When “it” was all over, I literally felt like a new creation-a brand new person.  I was delivered from a food addiction and a soda addiction that I thought I would always struggle with.  And if that wasn’t enough, a love for someone got restored that I REALLY thought was gone.  Extending forgiveness has nothing to do with feelings.  It’s as if my mind got wiped out and was replaced with the Mind of Christ because I literally don’t have the contempt, nor anger toward this person the way I did just a few days prior.

I’m still on this high.  It’s incredible what the Lord does when we are completely, 100% given over to Him.  There’s a deeper meaning to the phrase “beauty for ashes.”  What I thought was going to be long-term brokenness and pain, Jesus healed in a matter of minutes!  And all I did was come just as I was.

Photo courtesy of http://sisconference.org {©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2015 - All Rights Reserved}
Photo courtesy of http://sisconference.org {©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2015 – All Rights Reserved}
3 Replies to “An Unexpected Set Up”

Share Your Thoughts

