Family Flashback: She Always Made Me Laugh!

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2015 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2015 – All Rights Reserved {My grandparents and my dad-circa early 1950’s}

I miss my grandparents-my mom’s parents and my dad’s parents.  I loved going over to their houses every weekend, or spending a week or two during the summer.  They had a special way of making me feel special, loved and beautiful.  My grandmother, pictured in the photo, would read to my brother and I, from her family Bible.  I remember one Christmas, she helped us with a Nativity play that we performed in her living room. 🙂

One of my favorite memories about her concerns her dentures.  As a kid, at home and especially going out for the day with my parents, I was always chewing bubble gum, either Bubble Yum or Hubba Bubba.  While visiting my grandparents, my grandma wanted me to teach her how to blow a bubble.  So I got a piece of apple flavored Hubba Bubba and my grandma popped in her mouth and started chomping on it until it was ready to become the perfect sphere.  I demonstrated the next step and she felt confident that she could do it.  Well, she forgot to spread the gum over the tip of her tongue.  It was still just a wad of gum.  So when she started to blow, she blew just a little too hard and the gum went shooting out of her mouth like a bullet, along with her dentures which landed in my grandpa’s beer mug!  (Clink!) 😀

 

 

3 thoughts on “Family Flashback: She Always Made Me Laugh!

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

