Overwhelmed & Thankful

John 4:5-38, Jesus and the Samartian woman at the well

One of my favorite portions of Scripture.  But I never really studied before this morning.  I was drawn to reading it, after seeing one of the verses in this chapter, pop up in my verse-of-the-day Bible app:

God is spirit, and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and in truth. – v. 24

I’ve heard that preached on and read and re-read it over the years.  But I have to honest-I didn’t have a full understanding of what it meant.  (We won’t have full understanding until we get to Glory, but you know what I mean.) So after seeing my Bible app, I opened up my Bible and read verses 1-4, in the fourth chapter of John, and was struck by a few things that I had glossed over.

  • Jesus took the time to speak to a Samaritan
  • Jesus took the time to speak to a woman
  • Jesus took interest in her personal life
  • She forgot about her own reasons for going to get water in order to tell others about Jesus

(I could go on and on with the aspects that quickened in my spirit-this text is so rich.) As I continued to read, I was overwhelmed with a thought that God probably orchestrated vs. 1-4 in order for Jesus the Christ to be at the well especially for this woman.  And I started to feel what she might have felt, after having so many failed marriages-being mistreated and tossed aside, living in a village where everyone most likely knew her business and judged her, and in a relationship she shouldn’t have been in, most likely to fill a need she had deep down-to be accepted and validated as a person.  A feeling of loneliness and low self-worth came over me concerning her and I started to cry for her pain and for her joy.  Yep.  Joy.

She stated that she knew about the Messiah, and that He was supposed to come-not knowing that she was talking to Him already.  And then v. 26 happens

who speak to you am He.

The Great I Am, the Messiah, the Anointed One, the Savior of the world revealed Himself to a her.  And in doing so, she forgot all about the reason she went to the well in the first place, for her soul and spirit’s thirst was quenched, and went to tell others about Jesus.  And v. 23 hit me hard, as I cried for this woman’s pain and joy:

“But the hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father is seeking such to worship Him.”

As I was weeping over this woman, whom I will meet in heaven, I began to thank the Lord for ministering to her, for revealing Himself to her, and for healing her wounded spirit.  I was worshiping in spirit and in truth-in spirit: not according to my earthly desires or needs, in truth: truth about who God is, and who He was to this woman so long ago.  And I realized worship is so much more than a song or too.  It’s conduct.

It got me thinking, how many people we church folk over look, ignore and judge because we think they’re insignificant or too sinful to bother with?  How many people have been turned away from our Jesus because of us?  He’s EVERYONE’S JESUS not just ours.  Yet, we’re choir and worship team members, church board members, Sunday school teachers, youth leaders, or even pastors.  If we’ve experienced anything in Him, we should be just as excited to share Jesus as this woman was.

As I’m writing this, I’m so thankful that we serve a God who would choose to use vessels that are cracked, scared and broken.  I’m so thankful that we serve a God who is our Father, spouse, our Saviour and very best friend.  His love is so much more than we can put into words.

Remember how much you’re loved 🙂 ♥

~Dulcinea

 

4 thoughts on “Overwhelmed & Thankful

  1. This same scripture transformed the way I view Christianity.
    Within every denomination and building there are real and fake people. Some only claim to be Christians but dont really worship in Spirit. In the passage Jesus explains that people have it wrong. God is not in a specific location, but he is accessible to all those who worship in Spirit and Truth and those are the people He seeks to dwell in. Thanks A lot. God bless.

    Like

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

