Memories of Grandma: My Soul’s Food

If you have followed my blog for awhile, you know that some of my favorite childhood memories revolve around my 4 grandparents.  I’m so fortunate and blessed to have had all of them in my life. Each one of them left a part of them in me, in their own special way.  I can’t say that I had a favorite grandparent, but I was the closest to my dad’s parents, especially my Grandma Romero.  She and my grandpa had a way of making me feel accepted, safe, loved and pretty.  I loved being in the kitchen when my Grandma Romero was cooking.  She made it look so easy-never measured anything.  She did it all from memory.  There was nothing super fancy about her cooking but she put a lot of love into everything she made.  My favorite of hers were her bubble torts and stuffed bell peppers.  For those of you who may not know, bubble torts are made-from-scratch flower tortillas, fried until you see bubble appear, then take them out of the oil.  Yummy rip-and-did food. 🙂

I regret never writing any of her recipes down.  But like her, I have the memories of how she did most of her cooking.  During my marriage and even now, I hadn’t attempted to cook any of her recipes.  I just didn’t think that I could do her cooking justice.

But a few nights ago, I had a taste for my favorite dish.  So, a few nights ago, I finally got up the nerve to attempt my Grandma Romero’s stuffed bell pepper recipe.  It’s a very simple dish consisting of Spanish rice, black beans and browned meat.  (I used ground turkey.  I’m thinking of using shredded roast beef next time.)  You spoon all of that into the bell peppers, and place in the oven until nice and hot.  (Traditionally, there’s a sauce, but I didn’t make it-I will next time.)

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved

With every little part of the process, I went back in time to being in my grandma’s kitchen-her voice and her overall being was very clear as I continued hallowing out the bell peppers, and watching over the Spanish rice.  The memories of the day I found out about her passing came back too.  I’m glad that I wasn’t reduced to uncontrollable sobbing.  To say that I miss her, and all 4 of my grandparents, would be a huge understatement.  [It’s amazing how an aroma can trigger so many memories and feelings!] 🙂

By the time the bell peppers were done, the entire house smelled like my grandma’s kitchen and I felt very accomplished-don’t ask me why because I have no idea.  My girls loved them, too and their pretty particular about flavor.  I call them gourmet eaters-not they are gourmet cooks, they just like eating well-executed dishes. 🙂  I’m definitely going to teach my daughters my grandparents recipes and my mom’s too.  Being multi-racial, I have a lot of food traditions to share with them that I wasn’t able to share with them earlier on.  I have a strong feeling that there are some wonderful kitchen memories with my kids just waiting to be made.

 

~Dulcinea 🙂 ♥

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “Memories of Grandma: My Soul’s Food

  1. I’m so not a fan of bell peppers. But if I was, I would sure live to try this as they really do look delicious. 😊
    I love the fact that you can think back on fond childhood memories. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

