Won’t Believe It Until I See It

Just as the title of this post says, there have been things in my life that I just couldn’t believe in until I saw it.  I’m positive that I’m not alone.  For some reason, when I first got saved it wasn’t difficult to believe in anything the Word of God says.  I took to heart everything I read and heard preached.  As I got older, believing God could change a strong-willed personality was something that was more difficult to believe in than believing for a physical healing.

“Unless I see in His hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will not believe.” ~ John 20:25

Just like Thomas I would have to see it in order to believe it.  In the past, it was difficult for me to believe that anyone could change, or that even my own prayers for myself would be answered.  Yet, my faith would be so strong when praying for someone else.  And I found that the Lord used me a great deal to encourage others around me.

As I’ve grown and continue to grow in Him, He continues to lead people to me in order to be someone that they can talk to and to encourage.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard  myself say something to a person that is the very thing that I needed to hear for my own situation.  It’s as if the Lord uses me to preach to myself for the sake of encouraging me to continue to believe for those impossible looking situations in my life. 🙂

What situations?  Well, at one point my family and I were homeless.  My faith wavered back and froth from complete confidence to a crying complainer.  During this particular season, it became difficult for me to believe that we would ever come out of it.  My spirit and my mind were in a constant battle that showed no signs of ceasing.  Daily, I made the decision to trust and believe that the Lord would bring us out.  Also, I made the decision to not give up on Him.  After all, He had seen my family through so much before.

Jesus said to him, “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.” ~ John 20:29

Obviously, if you’ve followed my blog for a while, you know that my family and I are no longer in that state. God’s not done with us yet though.  There is so much that He wants to do with us and through us.

I have a friend who occasionally unloads on me about the problems that she’s having with her husband.  It’s difficult for her to see that God will ever intervene and bring light to the end of the tunnel.  And because of all that my family and I have been through I’m able to encourage her in her situation.

What are you in doubt of?  What have you been believing for that seems will never come to pass?  Let me encourage you to keep believing.  Believe in the Jesus who can work in your situation.  Believe in the Jesus that can give you peace while you wait.  He’s invisible to us here but His presence is very tangible.  He’s there with you whether you acknowledge His existence or not.  He loves you.  Keep believing!

 

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserverd

2 Replies to “Won’t Believe It Until I See It”

Share Your Thoughts

