Long-awaited Nephew Day

After seven months we got to see my one-and-only nephew yesterday.  It was so much fun! I can’t believe how much he’s grown.  There’s only a couple of inches difference between my youngest and my nephew.  Granted my youngest is petite, but STILL!  And the fellowship with my Sister-in-law was pretty good, too.  We haven’t seen them since this past Christmas, and needless to say, I was excitedly anticipating yesterday’s visit. 😀

It’s weird.  For the past few years, I only get the chance to see my one-and-only nephew a few times out of the year, instead of more frequently, and the same goes for my parents.  My brother and Sister-in-law live approximately 30 minutes away, yet they’re practically invisible.  I never thought that this would be the case. Growing, although I wasn’t the world’s greatest sister, we did have a close relationship, at least I thought so.  We got on each other’s nerves but still found was to make each other laugh.

I really miss him.

Between the two of us, he was the spoiled one, and hardly disciplined.  So, naturally I would think that he should be more involved with our parents, at the very least, but nope.  He and  his wife keep a distance from my parents and myself and it hurts-it hurts not seeing him, or my nephew and it hurts me more knowing how his lack of interaction is affecting our parents.  My parents helped raise my nephew for the first 5 years of  his life, while my brother and Sister-in-law worked.  They lived together, too, while my brother and his wife saved up for a place. My parents loved it because she got to see her youngest grandson everyday.  But now, it’s as if my parents are irrelevant to them  anymore.

Although I miss the interaction with my brother and feel badly about the fact that my kids don’t have a relationship with their uncle, I’ve been trying not to become bitter and unforgiving.  I’ve been taking this situation to the Lord, laying it at His feet, and trusting that He’ll work it out.  Along with that, I need to be filled with the Holy Spirit, and lean on His grace to give me the strength to handle the absence.  And I have the memories of yesterday’s visit.  And that’s good enough for now. 🙂

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserverd
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserverd
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserverd
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserverd

 

3 thoughts on “Long-awaited Nephew Day

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

