Keep It Real

Yesterday, I touched on how 20 years ago, I made a decision to follow Jesus.  After becoming a Christian,I was fortunate in that, I didn’t receive a lot of opposition within my family.  However, it confused some family members and a few friends because I was now different.  I didn’t want to do anything that was contrary to the direction – I believed and knew – the Lord was leading me in.  Why am I talking about this?

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserverd
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserverd

Well, this morning I “just happened” to turn on the t.v. a caught a portion of an interview with Christine Caine.  It was during Joyce Meyer’s program and her daughter was interviewing Christine.  What caught my attention was such a small sentence, but it punched in my spirit, “Commitment costs.”  She was talking about commitment to a life being lived completely for Christ, and how it will cost you your friends and family members because everyone will not be excited about your decision to live for Jesus.

(It’s so true.  When we are 100% in, there will be things we won’t want to do anymore, there will be places we won’t want to go anymore, and there will be people we won’t want to hangout with anymore-not that we stop caring for them, though.  We still love them.  It’s just that our definition of fun has changed and we now have a desire to build our spirits up with the things of the Lord.  

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserverd
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserverd

And if you’re anything like me, we want to tell our loved ones about Him and encourage them to make the same decision to live for Jesus.  But it’s not so easy.  For me, I look like a fanatic being a faith-blogger and soon-to-be author.  People around me think that I should be making more money instead of being so Jesus-minded.  Do you know that there will be people upset at you because you’re not worrying the way that they worry about you?  It’s crazy!  By making a conscience decision to give my problems to the Lord, and believe that He’ll work it out has caused some ridiculous conversations with close family members.  I guess it shows more of their unbelief?)

While I continued to listen to the message on t.v., my #3 was getting ready for work.  Periodically, she came through the living to see what I was reacting to.  (I have a tendency to verbally react and “Amen.”  So, I’m sure she was wondering what I was watching.) 🙂  By the time the program was over, there was such a peace in the house.  And what little worry that the enemy tried to stick me with earlier this morning was completely obliterated by the Holy Spirit and the Word!

So, thank you, Lord, for using Christine Caine to remind me that living for Jesus is not to be 30/70, or 60/40 way of life.  For me, living for Jesus means keeping it 100 no matter what!

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserverd
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserverd
3 thoughts on “Keep It Real

  1. Yes this is so true! Friends and family just don’t quite understand what being a christian means. They don’t understand why we are so different. We aren’t perfect but we strive after God, not just with words but action as well. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

