abundance

“For the harvest is ripe but the laborers are few” ~ Matthew 9:37

We go to church Sunday after Sunday, and we may even give to missions, or take missions trips ourselves. We advocate for the homeless and less fortunate, we evangelize the cashier at the grocery store or the people we’re standing in line with.

I can remember one night, leaving a grocery store, a young woman walked up to me asking for money.  I didn’t because I only took with me what I thought I would need at the store.  So I told her that I didn’t have any and I found myself asking her if she knew who Jesus is.  Her answer was, “I’ve heard of Him, but I really don’t know who He is.”  So in the middle of a grocery store parking lot, this beautiful soul let me pray for her and she received Jesus as her savior.  I never saw her again.  She’s come to mind very often, as the years have gone by.

Sometimes it can be easy to witness to a stranger.  We’ll most likely never see that person again.  It can be much more challenging to be a witness to our family members.  The way we live before their eyes say more than our words.  The Lord has having me apologize to my kids a lot lately.  I have a tendency to snap at them sometimes. For instance, I have a habit of leaving my phone charger on the coffee table.  One of my daughters and I have similar phones so she’ll just use it.  After showering and getting dressed, I came into the living room and noticed that the charger was missing.  Then I heard myself yelling and using a little profanity.  My daughter sheepishly said, from her room, “I have it, Mom.”  After she gave it back, and after I mentioned how she should have asked for permission before using it, I felt that I handled it pretty well because we didn’t get into an argument about it.  I went back to attempting to make some blog tweets that my actions came to my mind.  So what if my daughter didn’t ask permission to use my charger.  It’s not the end of the world.  I shouldn’t have felt so disrespected.  She felt confident that I wouldn’t have gotten upset.  I’ve let her do it before.  Why did I flip out to the point of allowing an ugly not-like-me word come out of my mouth?  I don’t know.  It tool less than a minute for the Holy Spirit to convict me.  I needed to go to my daughter and apologize for the bad attitude I had about the situation.

Not that big of a deal right?  Well, I’m not so sure.  The enemy attacks families, especially families who have a desire to serve the Lord.  And what if one or more of the family members is struggling with their walk?  A better witness is not just going to church and reading the Word, but living the Word and allowing our families see Jesus in us.  I’m convinced that the greatest mission field is living in our own homes.  What better way to kick the devil in the face than to be salt and light to our families.

Feel Free To Leave A Comment

