Worship in Spirit and in Truth

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved

And the four beasts said, Amen. And the four and twenty elders fell down and worshiped Him that lives for ever and ever. ~ Revelation 5:14

Reading this verse this morning, I was immediately struck by the picture this paints: uninhabited worship.  Up until last week, while studying John chapter 4, I thought I had a perfectly good handle on worship and what it entails but how wrong I was.  After reading the portion about the Samaritan women and Jesus at the well , I was compelled to find out what worshiping Jesus and being a worshiper of Jesus actually means.

But the hour comes, and now is, when the true worshipers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeks such to worship him. God is a Spirit: and they that worship Him must worship Him in spirit and in truth. ~John 4:23 & 24

So I broke my E-Sword app and this is what it says:

Worship

G4352

προσκυνέω

proskuneō

pros-koo-neh’-o

to kiss like a dog licking his master’s hand, to fawn prostrate in homage, in the direction of, wanting to be near

Worshiper

G4353

προσκυνητής

proskunētēs

pros-koo-nay-tace’

From G4352;

an adorer

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved

While reading the first definition, images of my daughter and new little love came to mind. Cinnamon and how she interacts with my daughter, the love she has for her master, and the excitement there is when my daughter walks into the room, and the longing and wanting to be near when my daughter is away at work or just in another part of the house for a brief moment are all clear and accurate pictures of how our relationship with our Heavenly Father and Savior should be like: uninhabited love with every fiber of our being and so much joy, while always remember Who is Greater and Who has authority and control. Of course, it goes without saying that our love for Him is always reciprocated. 😀

©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ - 2016 - All Rights Reserved
©Hodgepodge 4 the Soul™ – 2016 – All Rights Reserved

Now I’ve read this chapter numerous times and heard this portion of Scripture preached many more times, yet it was as though I had never read it!  I can’t exactly articulate the revelation I received, except to say that there is such an urgency to understand what worshiping in spirit and truth is. He’s coming back for His Bride very soon.  So maybe this urgency I’m sensing is that the Bride needs to start getting Herself ready.  The more I think about how much He loves us, and how we are to love Him, it’s nothing short of being the most beautiful love story ever.

“O, how He loves you and me!

O, how He loves you and me!

He gave His life.

what more could He give?

O, how He loves you!

O, how He loves me!

O, how He loves you and me!”

So why not love Him back with everything we have?

 

 

One Reply to “Worship in Spirit and in Truth”

Share Your Thoughts

